How to enable collisions only if alpha is 100

Good evening, fine people. I’ve been going round and round on this and have tried several things.

Here’s what’s currently working and I’m trying to do:
In Level 1 of my game I have these magical flowers that appear and disappear based on their alpha values. Random number generates a value and anything less than a certain number it stays invisible, if over that it’s 100 and visible. I’m sure there’s a more elegant solution, but this is my first game and I’m still learning…

These magical flowers are power ups and update a power up bar that adds a life when five have been collected.

When a collision between the player and the visible magic flower (resource) occurs, an animation and a sound play, and then the bar updates as expected. All great. However, sometimes the animation, sound, and bar update when the space is empty as well. This should not happen. I would also like each magic flower to destroy itself when it collides with the player, so that there are not infinite chances to just keep adding more lives.

I have the alpha behavior in the Resource sprite and the collision behavior in the Powerup Meter Bundle in the Player (bee) sprite.

I’m attaching screenshots of the latest things I’ve tried. Grateful for any insights. Thank you!

1 Like

Have the alpha number (in this picture 100) go through a filter to test if it’s 100. If so, it allows collisions.

Thank you for your lightning reply! So, just to make sure I’m getting it…after the alpha block, use a filter to make sure it’s 100 and then allow collisions? I’ll try that RN. Thanks!

1 Like

Yes, you’re getting that right.
There is an easy way to tell the player bundle wether or not to allow powerups, and that is through message blocks.

https://flowlab.io/behavior_handbook/#components-message

Have it to where;