📘 Space shooters & more: tips for developers

In this guide is an assortment of tips for people making space shooters. Due to the surge in space shooters, I hope I can help developers make more engaging games by using these tips in their games.
This guide may prove handy to people making regular shooters, or other games as well. This is my first time doing something like this, so lmk what you think!

img_asset_15185180_scaled_4x_pngcrushed

:one: TIP 1: GIVE THE PLAYER A REASON NOT TO SHOOT

A lot of shooters on flowlab give you the option to turn the cannon on or off. Doing so changes absolutely nothing, other than you are now firing bullets. But riddle me this: if there is no reason not to shoot, why stop shooting at all?

Giving your player a reason not to shoot makes the game more strategic, and forces the player to think a bit more. It also adds more “weight” to your gun, as there’s a reason to fire it. Most shooters do this with a reload mechanic, but there are other ways as well. Here are two of them:

img_asset_15185180 (2)_scaled_4x_pngcrushed
the energy mechanic

Similar to reloading in most shooter games, an energy mechanic is simply a bar of electricity somewhere. It constantly regenerates no matter what, but the player’s firing speed eats more power than the battery can generate. This forces the player to time when they shoot and strategize on energy usage.

To get extra strategic, you can force the player to wait for the bar to reload entirely if they burn the whole thing up. This discourages holding down the shoot button more and a lot of space shooters made by big studios use this mechanic.

img_asset_15185180 (1)_scaled_4x_pngcrushed
the speed mechanic