Tips on how to troubleshoot?

I’m new here so I’m just learning the ropes now in the middle of flow jam (actually just happened to discover this site the day after it started by happenstance)- which is all to say, I’m learning as I go, and probably being way too ambitious with my very first game.

But I’m just wondering- are there any good tips for troubleshooting code? My biggest struggle seems to be that it takes me a long time to find bugs/problems. I’ve been playing the game while looking at the blocks for the affected objects and trying to see where things are triggering weirdly to figure it out, but sometimes I just can’t figure it out.

For example, right now, I’m trying to get the attacher to work with two different objects that I can attach and detach from hangers on the wall. Video below is of me watching the code for the backpack as I’m troubleshooting (there’s no other code outside this bundle yet):

Visually I’m not seeing anything fire that would cause it to detach- any good tips for how to find the problem?

Game is here if anyone wants to take a live look at the actual code on the backpack, hanger, etc. (just bear in mind it’s not done, so a lot of other things don’t function yet):

1 Like

Hello @larson103 - Good to meet you!
When code breaks in flowlab, it usually falls under three categories:
1 - Code blocks were made incorrectly.
2 - The code blocks were not connected properly.
3 - Flowlab’s internal code is glitching/bugging - out.

The first thing is to use basic, straightforward logic. Make sure you can see clearly what the code lines are supposed to do, and if you can say it in a coherent sentence, it’s most likely not issue #2. For example:
When the player collides with a spike object, the player will impulse upwards and subtract 1 from the life number.
The third issue can be tested pretty quickly. Refresh the tab and press play from the games screen, not the test-play editor mode. If it works then, you know it was just a minor bug or error.