Two core mechanics I'm trying to figure out

Hey guys,

So I’m completely new to flowlab and not very experienced at programming in general, and I’d appreciate your help in brainstorming ways of making two somewhat similar core mechanics of the little project I’m working on here happen.

The first one is a dynamic menu which appears if the player clicks and holds anywhere on the screen without moving the mouse and displays the icon for every relevant item of a given type from the inventory with the amount currently owned overlaid on top of each, placed in a circle around the mouse. The circle will gell bigger or smaller to accommodate the number of items displayed. Once the menu opens, everything but said menu is paused and the player can click the item(s) they want to use however many times they want to add more of a given item, press a reset button to bring the count of every selected item back to zero if they made a mistake in the selection, or press a “done” button which prompts a confirmation and if confirmed uses those items.

The second one is a grid which appears from the moment the player clicks, holds and drags the mouse on the screen. This one doesn’t pause the game and it registers which grid squares the mouse passes over first, second, etc. leaving a visible trail, as well as having a “done” and a “cancel” button. Once a pattern is drawn and the done button is pressed, the game searches a database (array?) for a matching pattern and executes the corresponding function or a default function if there is no match.

I hope I’m explaining this clearly enough for you to get a clear understanding of what I’m trying to do. I’m just starting to work on these and already encountering issues since I’m not used to the tools available in this engine and to the way in which they work together yet. Right now I’m trying to figure out how to check for the press, hold and don’t move the mouse condition, which I thought would be done this way but it doesn’t seem to work: