Citadel (devlog)

Hello all, SwordScript here! I’m happy to share my first Flowlab game with you all over the course of its development. At of the time of posting, the game is in a very incomplete state, with not much completed, but I figured as a new developer I could use the most feedback as possible!

Link:

-SwordScript

3 Likes

the sword cooldown is really slow, and until 2 is pressed, the “turtle” will not move
Add sound effects like swipe found in premium

Correct- as explained in the description you are not supposed to be able to move until the combo is completed, so until you press 2 you will not be able to move. As for sound effects, i will be making my own. They are just not a priority at this moment

I just play tested the game, and I remember checking it out back when you were having issues with the background objects repeating.

The visuals were good, although I’m not sure about the lighting system. There is a glow on top of the chandeliers, but they only appear when the player is near it. Same thing with the rest of the light sources. Typically, you want the game to appear rather dark, and the light sources help illuminate a radius around it.
I’m currently working on a project that uses a similar light mechanic, but it’s mostly for visual effect than a mechanic, so the game itself isn’t very dark, but lighting elements still have a glow to it.

The Character itself is a bit confusing since you have a rather strange keybind setup going on, and from what I heard you say, that you have to press 1 and 2 to complete a full combo before you can move again. I’ve played some old NES remakes on online websites that use arrow keys to move the character, but use Z, X, C, and/or V to act as interaction or attack keys. Now, everyone is entitled to their own playstyles so I’m not too strict on this setup, however, I do find the attacking mechanic a little comfusing.