Lives with Hearts

My name is Angela, and I am a grade 4 teacher. I am working with a student to create a game. He really wants to have lives (hearts). He wants to have the aliens (enemies) remove a heart when a collision happens, and the face block (power up) to add one bonus life. I’ve looked at some other games with hearts for lives, and feel like we are doing it correctly, but I’m obviously missing something. This is brand new to me, and I’m just learning to support my student. Any advice/help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

I thank you for your time!

http://www.flowlab.io/game/play/274666

i know how to make a health bar.it will be useful??(???)?(say yes,plz.)

Hello Angela,

There is nothing wrong with your general approach, but I have put together an example here: http://flowlab.io/game/view/300856 also using hearts, but that I feel is a bit simpler.

This is what I did:

1. Started with a “hearts” object, wide enough to hold all the hearts
  2. Added an animation to the “hearts” sprite, where frame 1 has one heart, frame 2 has two hearts, etc.
  3. Added an animation node, and selected my new animation from step 2.
  4. Added a mailbox node, and connect the output of that mailbox to the “go to” frame input of the animation node from step 3. I named the mailbox “New Health”, but it is arbitrary

Now what we have is a mechanism where an incoming value of e.g., “3” will be sent to the animation behavior, and select frame “3” which has three hearts.

Next, I added a player object and added some behaviors:

1. I added a “Number” and named it “health” - this will store our player’s health
  2. Connect the output of our Health to a message named “New Health”. Now when our health is updated, its new value will be sent to the mailbox in our “hearts” object
  3. I added a Collision node, set to to trigger when touching spikes
  4. Connected the collider from step 2 to a Number set to “-1”, which is connected to the “+” input of our health.