Three problems

Hi! I’m new to this and I’ve worked on a game for about a week, and I can’t seem to figure out three things:

1. When my character “Roland” jumps, the “jump” animation only plays when jumping straight up. Must I somehow write “jump + right and left” in the logic? And how do I write that?

2. When I try to kill the “Billybumbler” (the fox-like creature) by jumping on top of it, I loose life. Why?

3. I want my “Slow mutants” to change direction when hitting a wall, but otherwise walk in the left direction and still be affected by gravity; I thought I should use a flip, but I can’t make it work.

Thank you for any help that may be provided!

Aaaaand the link to the game :slight_smile:

http://flowlab.io/game/view/431361

Hey warmlander,

For problem #1 - you have the jump animation play when you press up, and the run animation play when you press left or right. This means that if you press them both at the same time, there is no way for the game to tell which animation you really wish to play. You could fix this by disabling the left/right animations when jumping, the same way you disable double-jumps.

For problem #2 - your Billybumbler collision trigger for damage is set to work on Roland’s left, right, and bottom. When his feet touch the Billybumbler, he loses health - disable the bottom check box and it should work the way you want.

For problem #3 - The slow mutant has his x velocity set to a positive direction all the time, which means he will always go right. Try setting his “forward” velocity instead, so that it will match the direction the object is facing. If you do this, you will want to change the forward direction to start out pointing right (edit -> properties ->forward). Now when he flips, the forward direction will change and his velocity will change as well.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Thanks, grazer! I made # 2 work, but I couldn’t figure out #1 and 3 :confused: