An actual serious question about making game music

For those of you who have experience making custom game music - which websites would you recommend?

I prefer free, if possible. I do have an old Casio keyboard, but I’m not entirely sure how to hook it up to my computer and record songs that way. I’m looking for a website where I can create and edit my own MP3 game music. I know there are many different options, just want to know which ones you guys like best. Again - emphasis on free.

4 Likes

I’m no expert, but it seems like people like to use:

which is fancy and

https://www.beepbox.co

which is simple

and

which I haven’t seen anyone on here use, but is probably a decent option if you want to download something to run locally

5 Likes

@TGW I personally recommend some apps on the Google play store you can download on your phone to make music like Groovepad, Music Maker Jam (or its desktop counterpart Magix Music Maker) as well as bandlab like grazer said and the popular FL or Fruitloops music maker (Paid subscription needed)

That’s just some choices.

2 Likes

I have used and highly recommended Bandlab.com to all of my friends and fellow designers. Take a listen!
Playlist of my music, made on bandlab

2 Likes

Beepbox doesn’t sound very good when it’s used in its basic forms, but if you take some time to get to know the system, you can get some products to be proud of.
I don’t know about other people’s opinions on it, but I personally like what I’ve got with the Main Theme of my new game coming out, and it was made with Beepbox.

Really cool platform if you spend some time with it :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Nice - I had no idea that theme was in beepbox :slight_smile:

4 Likes

If you need random inspiration, I quite like this one:

3 Likes

or if u have a newish apple ipad or phone, garage band is a good one

3 Likes