I need some advice

Ok, so I’m extremely new to pixel art, but I’m trying to create a sprite for my main character and I need to know two things: First, what do you think of the sprite (be honest but gentle, I’m not very artistic to begin with). Second, Which version of the sprite do you prefer, the one with an outline or the one without an outline?

No outline:
Screenshot 2022-01-20 9.17.12 PM

With an outline:
Screenshot 2022-01-20 9.13.55 PM

2 Likes

without an outline looks better.

3 Likes

A piece of art’s beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Well, you kinda got a double outline going on here, the white creates an outline and the black makes little to no difference since it’s a different pixel size than everything else which makes it basically invisible.
The best choice here, no outline, just make sure the bg isn’t completely white.

6 Likes

Ok, @DraftyScienceCoat75 @glowbug, I made some significant changes. What do you think of this one?

I especially want feedback on the flag. I’m struggling to figure out what to do with it. Should I keep it like this, or maybe just make a red white and blue stripe across the middle, like my original had?

5 Likes

Looks much better. My suggestion would be to have the arms more at the side so it looks natural.

5 Likes

I agree, a person standing would have their shoulders come out then the arm go straight down, you kind of have a more curved thing going on

3 Likes

Yeah, you guys are right, it does look quite unnatural. The only reason I haven’t already fixed that is that I’m not really sure how to put the arms down without them just appearing to be part of the body. Any tips?

2 Likes

maybe try making one one of the arms darker than the rest of the body, and making the other one lighter?

3 Likes

Ah, yes. Shading. Works every time.

3 Likes

Head looks a lot better, although try to ditch the outlines, the highlighted glass should take up all of the upper space on the helmet, it looks way too dark.