Crunch Time: all your research in 60 minutes or less

Hello there!
This topic is a new attempt at a project I have considered doing for some time now. If this becomes successful, I will continue to do my best to keep posting here.

Here in the flowlab community, you rarely need to wait an hour before numerous people will joyfully aid you in your coding adventures and technical difficulties. However, some simply need help in game theory, narrative design, and simply finding a place to start. Inspiration is always welcome in places like these.

I have substantial experience in game design and programming in general, tinkering with everything from mods for Project Zomboid and Minecraft to scripting in Java and C++. I have loved created physical and digital games since my first ramshackle creation when I was three. Due to my experience and my current study in game design as a college student, I decided I could best benefit the Flowlab community by posting summaries of key research topics here.

My goal with these research topics is to give all users a basic comprehension of the topic at hand, certain intermediate knowledge that I find immediately applicable, and a handful of resources for those seeking a total understanding of a topic. I strive to create simple, easy to understand content that is both informative and enjoyable.

Some broad topics that will be covered are as follows:
Game narrative structure
Game mechanic design
Programming basics (potentially how-tos for other languages)
Graphical Design
Information on topics for immersion

I look forward to creating this content for you all, and any and all feedback, criticism, and support is welcome!

7 Likes

Current topic list:

Basics of shooter games
Procedural generation
Medieval combat basics and how to implement it in games
(maybe) how to balance PVP competitive games

4 Likes

Is this for other platforms and coding languages? Or does this also apply to flowlab as well?